Pink Spaceships

I’ve never really cared for Science Fiction. I don’t like watching green, slimy aliens or shooting stars with Bruce Willis astride or trips to the sun where everyone experiences death-by-melting.

Nope, not for me. I wonder at the stars, I stare at their twinkling, mysterious beauty and marvel at God’s vast creation, but I don’t spend hours pondering  the possibility of life out there. 

God blessed me with plenty of life right here on Earth.

I do love the sunset though. The daily ritual marking day’s end, showcased with vibrant colors. Never-endingly unique. Back in our high school days Trevor and I used to drive to Ft. Myers Beach often and watch the sunset. We’d take his little CRX, sound system blaring along Summerlin.

Each time we crossed the big arching bridge leading to the beach I’d dramatically sigh and say, “We take it for granted that we live so close to the beach.” He’d glance at me and shake his head. Sometimes I’d catch him rolling his eyes and I’d laugh. Trev’s not a big beach fan. It became a joke with us, a long-running silly quote that sweetly marks our relationship’s history.

I still ocassionally say it, though we’re rarely at the beach anymore.

Half my lifetime later I still love sunsets. As is life’s humorous way, the best sunsets I see now are when I walk out the doors at our local Publix after an evening shopping trip. Tonight was a show like I’ve never seen before. The air was as cool as can be found in Florida in June. Humidity was a no-show. It was a cloudy, stormy day and the remnants were still pregnant with moisture. The clouds hung across the edge of the Gulf with a few still spreading showers randomly across the land and water.

The sun was waving goodbye in shades of pink and yellow and golden hues that took my breath away.

Glorious, vibrant pink. One of my least favorite colors, but paint it across the darkening sky and I’m hooked. Huge, bulging blue-lavender clouds became pink spaceships as I watched. Hollywood’s special effects had nothing on this. The seconds turned into minutes as the sun continued drooping in the sky. 

Purple-gray slowly expanded into blush pink. It was almost more than I could take in and I found myself desperately wishing I had a camera or a fancier cell phone with which to take a picture. Around me, the noise was low and quiet as though all of creation were holding its collective breath in awe.

I know I was.

The brilliant pink, melon-rose and gold colors appeared hand-picked, perfectly blended together, and I smile because I know they are.

I was reminded of God’s marvelous creation as I listened later to Trev’s explanation of the pink color in the sky. He patiently explained the logical order of the Earth’s events and the whys and hows of the colors that paint the sky at sunrise and sunset. Yet all the science in the world can’t take away the fact that God created the colors of the rainbow and the daily ritual of the Earth rotating, bringing us darkness and then light.

“Then God said, ‘Let there be lights in the firmament of the heavens to divide the day from the night; and let them be for signs and seasons, and for days and years; and let them be for lights in the firmament of the heavens to give light on the earth’; and it was so” (Genesis 1:14 & 15).

Tagged: , , ,

One thought on “Pink Spaceships

  1. lynne garcia July 31, 2010 at 7:03 pm Reply

    Hello there! I love how you and your husband compliment each other. I love this post. I also am not a fan of pink but what God does with the sky sometimes is just astounding. I don’t know how people cannot believe in him. Thanks for sharing your blog with me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

