Dry Ground

I was watering our houseplants the other night, puttering around the house and enjoying the sweet feeling of relief as the hectic week was ending. The boys were singing (off-key) in the shower, their tired energy starting to peak. As I finished up, God reminded me of a wonderful spiritual truth through His green, leafy creation.

The last thirsty potted patient I needed to water was in our bedroom. The small plant sat atop my dresser against the adjacent wall, a dash of green in a room of blues and tans.

Why do I bother? That thing never grows.

Regardless of its lack of growth, I couldn’t leave it thirsty.

I picked up the plant and headed into our bathroom. The soil was dry and caked together as though it had been through a frost.  Soak it in, I willed sternly as the faucet gurgled. But the little plant had other ideas. Two seconds after I’d liberally sprinkled water into the soil, water pooled underneath the plant.

I was tempted to lecture the plant. Why are you letting it go through without soaking more in? Trust me, you need it. I dumped most of the dirty water back out in the sink, perplexed. If the plant was so dry, why wouldn’t it soak the water in? I made a mental note to ask a green-thumbed good friend.

The plant wasn’t dying. It just wasn’t growing. It looked nearly the same as the day I purchased it two years ago when we moved back into this house.

Though I wasn’t sure what the small, stunted plant needed to grow, I was reminded of what we – God’s children – must have in order to grow and live…living water from our savior, Jesus.

We need the pure, life-giving water that comes straight from the very source of life – God. We need to soak this living water in often and let it nourish our soul. In the book of Jeremiah God calls Himself “the fountain of living waters” (2:13 and 17:13). Though our physical bodies will always need regular H2O, our soul can be quenched forever if we drink of “the fountain of living waters” God offers to those who choose to seek Him.

Jesus echoed His Father’s words when He told the Samaritan woman at the well what she needed to quench her thirsty soul. “Whoever drinks of this water will thirst again, but whoever drinks of the water that I shall give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life” (John 4: 13-14). Imagine never thirsting again! But Jesus wasn’t speaking of physical thirst; He was speaking of our soul thirsting for new life and connection with our Creator. 

God’s Word assures us the only way to access the soul-quenching living waters from our Creator is through faith in Jesus. “Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me” (John 14:6). God’s son Jesus offers us eternal life through His sacrifice on the cross, for the forgiveness of our sin. When we accept the free gift of salvation, our faith in Jesus gives us access to the fountain of living waters that flows from God’s heart.

That’s God’s abundant grace – what an awesome blessing! The life-giving water we receive from God – through Jesus – will forever satiate the spiritual thirst of our soul. When we soak in God’s Word it will change us from the inside out – starting in the dirt and roots (our mind), working up to the leaves (our heart) and finishing with the blooming flower (our soul). 

 Though many try to fill up with tainted water this world readily offers, it will never satisfy our deepest need – to personally know our Creator. Water from a source other than God filters through our soul and becomes a stagnant, dirty pool of hopelessness and uncertainty. God’s living waters provide exactly what our soul needs for nourishment.

Our Savior’s living water offers a nutritional supplement for our soul that’s not offered through this world – God’s abundant grace and loving mercy. I will always need these ingredients, and I’m so thankful God won’t say, She doesn’t get any more living water because she isn’t growing enough. Kerry is 100 gallons over the limit and I’m not wasting any more. Amazing grace – how sweet the sound!  

I don’t want to be like my stunted little plant. I want to grow for God! My desire is to drink deeply from the fountain of God’s living waters so I can bloom for Him.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

