Wart Worry

They’re all gone!

I stroked my finger over my older son’s left knee. Surprise bloomed inside as I felt the smoothness of his skin over bony, tan knee.

I hurriedly checked the other knee – blessedly bump-free. I felt his arms, hands, and his feet. Smooth skin met my testing fingers. Relief and gratitude followed after the bright blossom of surprise.

I couldn’t find a wart anywhere on his body.

Thank you, Lord!

Two weeks prior we were at the dermatologist and I felt the beginning clutches of desperation. We already tried two dermatologic creams to dry out the clusters, but they’d only created a painful, bumpy scab over the warts. The doctor could lance them off, but he considered that option a last resort. Very painful and too much scarring, he said.

The best option, he said, was using an antacid/ulcer drug called Tagamet to kill the virus in Cole’s body. Though it worked for some patients, it wasn’t a guarantee.

Cole was becoming self-conscious about the large cluster of warts on his knees, and we had to do something. Around the age of three we noticed a couple random warts on his hands and feet. In the past year the number of warts on his body, along with the clusters on his knees, had grown dramatically. The clusters were right where most of his shorts hit his knees, which irritated the clusters and bothered Cole.

At the park I heard children ask about the knee clusters, some with curiosity and others with disgust. When he was younger he accidentally called them moles,  but I wondered if he now understood the negative stigma and said moles on purpose.

Because I try to keep as many chemicals out of their bodies as possible, the idea of giving one of my boys a drug for combatting stomach or intestinal ulcers bothered me. On the other hand, I didn’t want Cole embarrassed or ostracized for the increasingly obvious wart clusters. We live in Florida and shorts are nearly year-round wear.

After talking with my husband one evening, the simplest, most effective solution crossed our minds.

Prayer.

Rather than allow the situation to stress and consume, we would turn Cole’s wart worry over to the Great Physician. “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, in everything give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you” (1 Thess. 5:16-18).

We were so thankful for Cole’s good health apart from his warts. Cole wasn’t going to die from his warts. His life wasn’t in danger. Yet our big little boy needed God’s touch, and praying is what the Bible directs us to do. “Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing psalms” (James 5:13).

In faith we prayed that God would touch Cole’s knees and take the wart clusters away. Two weeks later every wart on his body was gone. His knees bore a faint, pale mark where the large clusters had been.

Our wart worry was no match for His heavenly healing.

What a blessing that simple, meager faith, offered in prayer with thanksgiving, gave us a wonderful example to share with our boys of God’s faithfulness for the big and the small in our lives.

“But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him” (Hebrews 11:6).

Tagged: , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Wart Worry

  1. Keli Gwyn March 1, 2011 at 1:23 pm Reply

    What a wonderful example of how the Lord hears the prayers of the faithful and cares about every detail of our lives. I’m happy things worked out so well for Cole.

    • candidkerry March 11, 2011 at 10:34 am Reply

      Thank you, Keli.:) God is so good, and it’s always amazing to see how He works in such simple yet awesome ways!

  2. Stephanie March 11, 2011 at 4:16 am Reply

    It always amazes and thrills me when my tiny faith mixed with obedience to His word results in a tangible, obvious act from Him that increases my faith and gives me “proof” to share with others. (Whether they believe it or not.) Rejoicing with you in this faith-affirming prayer. May it be one of those memories in Cole’s life that consistently remind him of His loving Father, even 50 years from now. 🙂

    BTW, I occasionally get a wart on my finger. Since I also don’t like using chemicals, I searched for an herbal way to fight. Garlic works for me. I put a slice of garlic on it with a bandaid. It usually takes a couple of days, but the wart disappears for months or even years. I think stress makes it return, but I’m not sure. It’s always so long between times that I forget what was going on when it appeared in the past.

    • candidkerry March 11, 2011 at 10:46 am Reply

      Thank you for stopping by, Stephanie! The situation with Cole’s warts was definitely a wonderful physical example of God’s care and faithfulness and we’re grateful to share that faith story with our kids. I’m also thankful to have a means to share it with others through this blog.

      I will definitely write down that remedy! We love garglic around here. 🙂 Thanks so much for letting me know. God Bless!

  3. Amanda Beth February 9, 2012 at 4:51 pm Reply

    I love hearing how God answers prayers. It’s a wonderful reminder that He truly cares for us. Great story. Thanks for sharing it with me! Blessings to you and your family:)

Leave a Reply

