Oh Say…Can’t You Sing?

“Mommy, stop! Please stop.”

 Far from breaking my heart, I laughed at my son’s words.  I was belting out Tenth Avenue North’s song, “You Are More,” and I lost track of my volume button. We were on our way to pick up Cole from school and Chase was groaning in the seat behind me.

“Can you stop singing?” Pleading wrapped around the words.

I settled for humming.

I harbor no delusions of vocal grandeur. I don’t watch American Idol, let alone aspire to showcase my (lack of) singing talent. Childhood dreams of charming crowds with raw, natural talent laced through my vocal chords turned sour at the age of 8, when I sang off-key Psalty songs on the drive from Connecticut to Ohio to my sister’s fingers jammed in her ears.

No one in my family asked me to keep singing then, and they sure don’t ask me now.

My voice wouldn’t cause any permanent damage to your hearing, but the sound just might tickle enough that you’d have visions of bright orange earplugs if by chance we were singing the National Anthem in close quarters. (By ‘tickle,’ I mean your ears would vibrate loudly from prolonged exposure to my voice… something like that.)

I’ll stick to writing.

Years ago a teenaged friend posed an interesting question…If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?

Well, since we’re on that subject…take a wild guess. Yup, if I could, I’d change my voice. I don’t mind my speaking voice, though I don’t care to hear it recorded. But when I really think on one thing I would change about myself if I could, I realize, deep down, the little girl in me still longs for a breathtaking singing voice.

Cue epic theme song…

A voice that would mesmerize and enchant, evoking emotion and inspiring awe in ears everywhere…a thrilling voice created to rival the singing birds and billowing wind…a voice that leads the breaking waves in their timeless melody…

Okay, now I’m in a Disney movie.

I’ll let that go.

As I’ve matured and settled into who God created me to be (and it’s not Carrie Underwood, that’s for sure), I realize it doesn’t matter what my voice sounds like. I am His, and that is reason enough to sing every moment of every day.

God created me in His likeness (Genesis 1:27), and I’m fearfully and wonderfully made because His works are marvelous (Psalm 139:14). I’m saved, redeemed and purposed through my faith in Christ Jesus (Ephesians 2:10). I sing praises to Jesus for those reasons, and for so much more.

He is so much more. How can I not sing?

Even though they might sound better, no stones will cry out on my watch (Luke 19:40).

When I sing praises to my beloved, awesome Savior with the words of my mouth (Psalm 19:14) and the breath He gave me (Genesis 2:7), it’s a beautiful sound to my Heavenly Father.

On-key or off.

Make a joyful shout to God, all the earth!

Sing out the honor of His name;

Make His praise glorious.

Say to God, “How awesome are Your works!

Through the greatness of Your power Your enemies shall submit themselves to You.

All the earth shall worship You and sing praises to You; They shall sing praises to Your name.” Psalm 66:1-4

God doesn’t require perfect pitch or a sweet soprano voice to reach His heart. We simply need to sing out of total love and devotion (Deuteronomy 6:5) to our loving Creator, who offered His only Son on our behalf (John 3:16). 

Is it any wonder I sing? Great are You, Lord!

4 thoughts on “Oh Say…Can’t You Sing?

  1. Very good post. When this spirit is in you it is only natural to sing out! I love Psalm 100 for this idea, too.

    Thank you for the kind words to Kristin. I don’t know is she has read them all yet, but she will. Looks like she’ll be in the hospital at least until Friday.

    wb

  2. I have a very unique voice and people have a hard time understanding me. I try not to complain because God designed me this way for a reason. I will sing to him regardless! Great thoughts Kerry!

    • Thanks for stopping by, Alisa!

      I wonder if you and Crissy sound alike? My sister and I have very similar voices and people get them mixed up (on the phone).

      And I think you communicate beautifully with the written word. 🙂 Can’t wait to read from your devotional.

Leave a Reply

