Spilled Faith

Today is a messy day. Already I’ve spilled and cleaned, spilled and cleaned.

I can still picture the orange juice and green tea, splattered over my kitchen.

Spots of light orange dotted the countertop. At my feet, surrounding the sink rug were larger puddles of liquid the dog discovered with his eager tongue, while rivulets of juice ran down the dishwasher and cabinets.

I clenched my eyes tight and shook my head, shutting out the spilled mess.  Slow down.

Two pairs of feet rushed in, drawn toward the kitchen by my loud groan. Four blue eyes surveyed the mess and disappeared into the bathroom.

Moments later they reappear with wipes in hand, dropping to little boy knees on the sticky floor.

Gratitude lightens the messy moment of spilled juice. We worked together, soaking up the tiny lakes of orange along the floor and countertop.

A few minutes later, breakfast done and the kitchen cleaned, I pour a cup of hot water.

Morning tea. It’s my companion when I read God’s word and I bounce the green tea bag up and down, up and down, like a child on a trampoline.

The tea bag soaks in enough liquid and sinks halfway into the large flowered mug, so I march off to attack the laundry and give the tea time to steep.

A few minutes later I enter the splash zone and reach for my tea cup, forgetting how full it is. Still-hot water spills over the top onto my hand, over the just-cleaned counter top.

Slow down screeches through my brain again, too late. Another spill.

More liquid dots my countertop, and frustration bubbles over like boiling water. I wipe my hand and wonder about the day, if there is a place I can hide away with no liquid in sight.

We do live in Florida.

Later, everything cleaned, I sit down with God’s word held fast in my hands. A passage in Job comes to mind, Chapter 38, as I think about the spilled messes of my morning.

How do You hold all that liquid in, Lord? The oceans, the lakes, the rivers? I can’t even contain the liquid in a cup.

I turned to the end of Job, as God reminds again – in a time when I need this reminder – that He is God and I am not. He is Creator and I am created. He is justice and I am over-flowing emotion. He is pure Light and I am cracked shadow creased with darkness.

He is the Creator of the foundations of the earth and the Designer of the deep.

“Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth?

Tell Me, if you have understanding.

Who determined its measurements?

Surely you know!

Or who stretched the line upon it?

To what were its foundations fastened?

Or who laid its cornerstone,

When the morning stars sang together,

And all the sons of God shouted for joy?

Or who shut in the sea with doors,

When it burst forth and issued from the womb;

When I made the clouds its garment,

And thick darkness its swaddling band;

When I fixed My limit for it,

And set bars and doors;

When I said,

This far you may come, but no farther,

And here your proud waves must stop!” (Job 38:4-11)

I will wait on the Lord, and trust. And I will remember that He who said, “Stop” to the waves of the ocean has loosed heavenly grace to spill over us. 

Jesus.

Jesus’ righteousness spills over, sweet and cleansing, welcome.

Lord, I pray for an abundance of spilled faith in my life so Your grace can pour out and be soaked up by others.  

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Spilled Faith

  1. Warren Baldwin July 7, 2011 at 12:58 pm Reply

    I liked this.

  2. cynthiaherron July 9, 2011 at 12:40 am Reply

    Kerry, this was tremendous! I’m reminded of when our own children were very small and it seemed like one endless day of “clean-ups.” I resolved then, as I sometimes approach other things now…in ten years from now, will it really matter?

    Thanks for your inspiring words!

Leave a Reply

