Flip the Switch

“Turn off your bedroom light!”

The steady drone of ascending garage door covered Cole’s reply to my familiar mantra. 

Chase pushed against my legs, trying to get past. We were leaving for the gym, and I wanted to make it inside the YMCA before the storm clouds burst open and we found ourselves stuck in the truck counting lightning flashes. 

Again.

Cole trotted through our pass-through guest bathroom toward me, forgetting to hit the bathroom light. He dropped his book on the bathroom countertop, bookmark hanging out of the corner.

“Cole, turn off the bathroom light.”

I love being a parent, but motherhood is at times a weary game of hit-play-and-repeat-repeat-repeat. I noticed Cole’s bare feet and reminded him to grab his shoes.

The light remained on.

“Bathroom light, Cole. Flip the switch.”

Sigh…

Cole turned around and poked at the double switch, finally cutting off the light. He grabbed flip flops and followed us to the garage, and we headed out to race the rumbling storm clouds and exercise – not necessarily in that order.

When we leave our house, I always make sure the lights are turned off. During the day I’m especially vigilant about having random lights on. I don’t know if it quite falls into the category of ‘pet peeve’ , but I find it unnecessary to have lights on unless someone is actively working (or playing) in the room.

Not to mention the brilliant Florida sunshine provides plenty of light during late morning and most of the afternoon.

At night I’m the light fairy. I follow my boys and hubby around, extinguishing lights in empty, silent rooms. I’ve been known to grumble under my breath as I float from room to room, flipping switches and shaking my head.

I’m no Tinkerbell.

Tonight our sons’ devotional was about setting an example with our lives, using the light of Jesus. The devotional asked, “What kind of light are you giving off to others?” As I read through it with Cole and Chase I thought about our home and how I turn unnecessary lights off to save money and preserve electricity.

In the Christian walk we’re called to do the opposite. Our Light should always be flipped ‘on’, shining for Jesus.

You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden.

Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lamp stand, and it gives light to all who are in the house.

Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in Heaven.  Matthew 5:14-16

Being identified as a Christ-follower sets us apart because we’re placed on lamp stand. We’re not a decoration in this world – Christians are purposed by our Creator through faith in Jesus.

Our light is for His glory, and we’re to shine brightly through dark days and moon-lit nights.

At times we may find ourselves the lone lamp stand in the room, the only light to be found in a dark place. How bright and blinding His light will be in that room – welcome to some, and dreaded by others. No matter what others say or how they react, we’re to remain flipped on and shining brightly in our faith.

Other times we may be surrounded by many other lamp stands covered with glowing lamps, sharing their light and pushing away all darkness. There is rest and fellowship within this bright room.

In either situation we’re to remain flipped on for Him.

After all, when we’re saved by grace through faith in Jesus, we’re given a never-ending source of electricity. His light is free to us, but we can’t forget what it cost the Source.

Everything. It cost Him His very life.

Through power outages and the ongoing blackouts of life, Jesus fills us with a Light that won’t burn out.  His power will never flicker or fail.

If you’re in a dark room right now, the only light shining into the darkness, I encourage you to keep yourself flipped on. Stay connected to the Source through His word and prayer.

Because someone sees your Light.

And that Light – shining through darkness – lights the way for those who don’t have the same Source of electricity.  

Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.” ~ John 8:12

2 thoughts on “Flip the Switch

  1. Kerry, you did it again! Your spirit “shines” as you share Christ’s message of love, hope, and renewal!

    (And I think we must be kindred spirits…Letting our light shine for Jesus is always on my mind.)

Leave a Reply

