Twisted

“Mom, look at Chase!”  Cole was laughing through the words. Not now, son.

My nose was buried in a book, dinner was on the verge of bubbling over in the oven, and Third Day’s “Born Again” rang out from my cell. Absentmindedly I flicked my eyes toward Chase’s prone form on the carpet, surprised by what I saw.

Chase lay twisted into himself, arms, legs and blond hair incongruously out of place. He was on his back, solid legs twisted up behind his head like a pretzel. A giggle rumbled in my throat, sputtering into laughter.

Chase bobbled back and forth as though holding a yoga pose, his toes touching behind his head. Cole is our long, lean climber, but Chase has the market on power and flexibility.

Suddenly the pretzel-hold broke and his legs straightened out, no longer twisted.

Later, after the boys were in bed and day faded into night’s arms, I read about the upcoming commemoration of 9/11. Images that will forever elicit scorching, tearing emotion within the soul of our nation flashed across my laptop screen, reminders of a twisted day, a day the world changed forever, each of us changed with it.

Two tall beacons of shining silver pierced through the heart by hate-filled bullets; dark smoke wafting heavenward, higher and higher as more bullets are shot, hitting the bullseye of our nation. One bullet misfires, its final resting place dirt-drenched, hallowed ground for the valiant souls aboard.

Our collective shock at the heinous acts twists angrily at our hope, nearly strangling our country.

Nearly, but not quite.

We were shattered, our country twisted into something else entirely, singed with fear and confusion, on fire with anger and the scorching need for retribution, but ultimately flooded with love, heroism, and faith.

The very soul of this nation was turned inside-out, yet we saw rise from the ashes the bravery and selflessness of our people and the faithfulness of our God. Hatred was emptied of fervor and obliterated in the face of love’s sweltering fire.  

Today as we mourn and remember, I’m thankful for the promises in God’s word, for His peace and comfort, and for His hand on our country and its people. I’m reminded – again, always – that my peace doesn’t come from this world. It comes from Jesus, who has overcome this world.

These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world. ~ John 16:33

Fear not, for I am with you;

Be not dismayed, for I am your God.

I will strengthen you, yes I will help you.

I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.

~ Isaiah 41:10

GOD BLESS THE USA

2 thoughts on “Twisted

Leave a Reply

