Just You and Me

 

“Mom, it’s just you and me…”

Chase’s voice peeked softly from behind me. We were driving to the credit union in Brandon so I could activate my new debit card. Cole and Chase started their YMCA soccer season that Saturday, and it was a beautiful fall morning with sunny skies and perfect temps in the low 70s.

Chase had practice at 10 followed by a game at 11, while Cole’s age group practiced at 11 then played their game at 12:00. Because I had to make it to the bank before 1:00, Chase and I headed out during Cole’s game. It felt strange with only one monkey in the truck, and I prayed Cole’s game would go well and he would have fun. I looked forward to hearing the game report from Trevor later.

As we drove toward the bank, Chase chatted excitedly about soccer, his enthusiasm still pulsing even though they lost the game. As we passed the pet store on the way to the bank, I was reminded of the many occasions I’d spent with Chase here and at other places while running errands. After all, Cole had been in VPK, Kindergarten and 1st grade for the past three years, so Chase and I had a lot of time together.

Not lately, though. Chase was in Kindergarten now, and I realized how much I missed that one-on-one time with him.

“My voice You shall hear in the morning, O Lord;

In the morning I will direct it to You, and I will look up.”

~ Psalm 5:3

“Just you and me.” Parents learn that with multiple children, conversations often burst apart like sunrays fragmenting through thickly-needled pine trees, each golden ray worthy of admiration and further inspection. Chatty voices fill up vehicles and homes, growing louder in order to be heard above the cacaphony of youth. Children feed off each other, leaving their serious questions and thoughtful ponderings in the dust as they tease and tickle and test.

When I’m one-on-one with my boys, I love that precious uninterrupted time to talk and wonder, time to answer questions and address concerns that lay heavy in serious blue eyes. It’s putting parental love into action – living out quality time – by giving them our best with our attention and focus.

I made a mental note to set aside alone time with Cole as well.

Lately I’ve been lacking that quality alone time with my Creator, and there’s a throbbing void in my life.  I started a job a few weeks back and the mornings are as rapid-fire as the rest of my hamster-on-a-wheel day. I’ve been blessed as a stay-at-home mom to be able to send the boys off to school and Trev off to work, grab a steaming cup of tea, make breakfast and read my Bible slowly, poring over pages uninterrupted.

My schedule is tighter now, with no wasted moments (in other words, no Facebook in the morning!). Sometimes I find myself forgoing the precious time in God’s word to email someone, finish an article, chat on the phone, or just catch a few more minutes of sleep. I’m missing the alone time with my Savior, that sweet pause in life when I can quiet my heart and mind and listen for His voice.

Oswald Chambers noted,“The lasting value of our public service for God is measured by the depth of the intimacy of our private times of fellowship and oneness with him.”

I learn over and over that I can’t hold fast the confession of my hope without wavering unless I’m holding tight to God’s word and spending time with Him, one-on-one. I waver and wobble in life when I’m going it alone, a redeemed child running ahead of the most important Person in my life – my Redeemer.

God desires one-on-one time with each of His children even more than I do with my sweet boys, time we can savor with our Savior. We need those precious moments alone so we can say, “It’s just You and me, Lord” and give Him our best.   

As the deer pants for the water brooks,

So pants my soul for You, O God.

My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. ~ Psalm 42:1 & 2 

4 thoughts on “Just You and Me

  1. This message was for me! Thank you! I have been busy with events at my church this week. And on top of schooling my kids, answering emails, posts, blogs, I have been slowly neglecting my time with God in His Word. Thank you so much:) Blessings to you!

    • Hi Amanda!

      Thank you for stopping by and commenting! I’m so glad this post spoke to you. I’m sure your schedule is hopping right now with your book signings and church and everything else, along with four kids! Wow, can’t imagine.

      Praying for peaceful moments in your day to spend with Him.

      God Bless!

  2. Spending time in God’s word. It’s tempting to become negligent when life events happen and we think we must address those first. No wonder God’s creative when getting our attention!

    Funny how the Holy Spirit convicts us and gets right to the heart of the matter.

    Wonderful words, Kerry!

    • Thanks, Cynthia!

      God’s definitely had to be creative getting my attention at times. 🙂 And I’m so thankful He’s patient with me – amazing grace, how sweet the sound!

      Hugs,
      Kerry

Leave a Reply

