Walking Blind

 

One of our dog’s favorite things to do is chase a soccer ball in our backyard. It’s Jedi’s favorite pastime – I kick the ball to him and he runs after it with a squeaky toy in his mouth. He loves sprinting from one end of the yard to the other to catch and stop the soccer ball, and he’s surprisingly good at trapping the ball with his front – or back – paws.

Then he gets ready as I walk over to him to do it again. Back and forth we go, from east fence to west fence. Sometimes I exercise along with him, sprinting across the yard or doing walking lunges while going back and forth.

A few weeks ago I was kicking the ball to him and enjoying the cool fall evening. The sun was descending quickly, creating a golden explosion in the western sky. Cardinals chirped brightly in the trees behind our yard, saying goodbye to the day. Something was heavy on my heart, and I was praying and giving the situation to God.

As I turned to walk back across the yard, I let my eyelids drop. Darkness invaded as my other senses exploded. With eyes closed, I slowed my steps but still moved forward, the cool wind brushing my face. Because I know our yard so well fear didn’t enter my mind. I’ve walked across my backyard hundreds of times, wearing a path in the grass as I kick the soccer ball back and forth.

The only thing that could trip me would be my own feet.

As I walked blind across our backyard I experienced the strong, ironic sensation of freedom. How that was possible? It’s because I knew where I was walking and my body knew the terrain. It felt wonderful and freeing to walk forward in faith, knowing the path beneath my flip flops was sure and unchanging. 

For we walk by faith, not by sight. ~ 2 Corinthians 5:7

Later I went to my Bible and read 2 Corinthians 4:16-5:8. Paul writes about our earthly bodies and the reality that they don’t last forever. The fact is that the human mortality rate is 100 %. But Christ followers are promised that, “even though our outward man is perishing, yet the inward man is being renewed day by day” (4:16). 

God renews our mind through His word, so that we can walk by faith in Him and His word and not by fallible human sight. As I read through the passage, my eyes stalled on the phrase ‘day by day.’

When I neglect to renew my mind in His word daily, I end up looking around wildly. I walk spiritually blind and bump clumsily into things and people, wondering, Where am I, Lord? What’s happening? What should I do? 

Recently life’s steady speedwalk turned into a full-out sprint, and my Bible remained closed too much throughout the busy week. My spiritual eyesight has clouded and I find myself staggering around, lost. I struggle to see what God has for me with dimmed, earthly eyes, and the picture is completely unclear. 

I’m walking by sight and not by faith. Oswald Chambers wrote that “faith is the entire person in the right relationship with God through the power of the Spirit of Jesus Christ.”

Blessed is the man who fears the Lord, who walks in His ways. ~ Psalm 128:1

We can’t walk by faith unless we’re in God’s word and steadying ourselves on the only sure, unchanging ground found on earth – Jesus. The Bible is our Creator’s heart for His creation, and when we’re in it daily, He equips us to walk by faith and not by sight.

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Walking Blind

  1. Amanda Beth December 4, 2011 at 1:43 pm Reply

    Great message, Kerry! I have struggled with the same thing when I get busy. My Bible remains closed too much. But His Word is the main thing we need each day. It’s just hard to remember that when life gets busy. Yet God always knows how to gently remind us that we need Him:) Thanks for allowing God to minister through you. Have a blessed Sunday:)

    • candidkerry December 9, 2011 at 8:29 pm Reply

      Hi Amanda!

      Thank you for stopping by and for your nice comment. Our lives are definitely overrun by technology but like you said, God gently reminds us to return to Him and His word. I’m so grateful He does and thankful for His grace and patience with us.

      Praying you have a blessed weekend! Hugs ~ Kerry

  2. Mark Hunter December 9, 2011 at 9:30 am Reply

    Hi Kerry,

    I found your blog after reading a recent comment you posted on Amanda’s blog. I’ve read a few of your articles and am happy to report that I am subscribing to your blog. I like your moderate, pragmatic yet pure and faithful relationship you have with God. You see it through the same eyes that I do. I am drawn to like-minded and inspiring individuals who clearly see God’s word and who express it so eloquently.

    I also 100% agree with what you are saying. Our modern existence, with all the trappings and distractions that keep us occupied, sadly are very efficient at doing so. Sometimes I think we just need to pull back and focus on the essential task of simply being pleasing to God. I often find, through situations and experiences in my life, that God is working to show me and remind me of this.

    I will catch up on your past articles so, if this is anything to go by, then (like Amanda’s blog) this will be a real treasure trove of inspirational and thought provoking articles. God bless and keep you.

    Mark

    • candidkerry December 9, 2011 at 8:36 pm Reply

      Hi Mark,

      Thanks so much for your thoughtful comments! You really blessed me today. I look forward to visiting your blog and reading your posts, and sharing with you on our faith journeys.

      The name of your blog makes my heart glad. I have a list of people I pray for (friends, family, and others) who are either atheist or agnostic. My heart breaks that they don’t know the love of Jesus, and my prayer is that God would open their eyes to the deep, wide, and eternal love that’s found only through His precious Son, Jesus. There is nothing else in our world that can fill us like Him.

      Thanks again for your encouraging words. I hope you have a blessed weekend.
      Kerry

Leave a Reply

