New Eyes

He is your praise, and He is your God, who has done for you these great and awesome things which your eyes have seen. ~ Deuteronomy 10:21

Tonight I took a walk under night’s gigantic inky cloak. The stars twinkled and the moon shone opal-bright from its crescent cleft in the darkness, and my new eyes took it all in. I’ve worn glasses or contacts for over 20 years, but not tonight.

Not anymore. Thank you, Lord!

I had LASIK eye surgery a few day ago, and my eyes are nearly back to normal. A new normal. I’ve had some dryness and still have a few red splotchy marks around my cornea, but those side effects will disappear in the weeks to come. Lubricating drops come in handy throughout the day, sweet little beads of moisture that aid the healing process and soothe my eyes.

A few people asked me about the surgery. “How was it?” “How do your eyes feel?” “Were you scared?” I never had so many inquiries about my eyeballs, so I wanted to share my experience.

My in-laws and two sisters-in-law already had LASIK and they highly recommended it. Trevor and I talked about LASIK quite a bit and he began putting money away monthly two years ago, so I had in the back of my mind that I’d have LASIK sooner or later.

The initial appointment tests to make sure I can even have the procedure.  My eyeballs passed with flying irises, qualifying for IntraLase ® Blade-Free, All-Laser LASIK. From the clinic brochure: “a special device creates a hinged flap of thin cornea tissue which is then gently folded out of the way. The laser re-shapes the underlying tissue, and the doctor replaces the corneal flap over the treated area where it bonds securely, without the need for stitches.”

(Hold on, I’m going to pass out.)

There are two types of procedures offered at this particular eye clinic, and IntraLase ® was the “better” of the two. Hooray for healthy corneas thick enough so the eye doctor can slice them!?

Eye don’t know about this. Eye’m just not sure I can lay there while someone laser-beams the windows to my soul!

There was an opening in the surgery schedule that next week, so I plunged in and made the appointment. The day of surgery came quickly and my patient, sweet, attentive mother-in-law came with me. The eye clinic we chose is in Sarasota, so I was going to have the procedure then stay at my in-laws’ house overnight to recover (without two curious, pointy-elbowed, pokey-fingered monkeys nearby).

Like with my two C-sections, I prayed for peace beforehand, and God reminded me of Isaiah 26:3. As I went into the first room to have my corneas made into flapjacks, I listened to the doctor’s soothing voice and prayed, “He will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on You, because he trusts in You.” I give God all the glory because I was able to lay there quietly, unflinching despite being well aware what was going on.

Flapjacks!

The first part of the procedure took about 20 seconds per eye, and I was out of the room before I knew it. Once the flaps were cut, it felt like I was wearing goggles filled with water. Thankfully, the second part of the procedure was also minute-quick, and I was grateful for the doctor’s reassuring voice as my vision blurred under the red, green and yellow lights of the laser. Strange noises, a little perfectly laser-aimed cell-sloughing, and floppety-flop flapjacks back on. (Times two.)

Then those wonderful words…”That’s it, we’re done!”

They taped my eyes and sent me off with instructions to keep them closed as much as possible the rest of that day. My doting mother-in-law took over and we headed back to their house. My eyes were scratchy and burned slightly for about two hours afterward, and God’s amazingly intricate creation – the human eye – began healing itself. My tear ducts kicked in, leaking constant tears to alleviate the pain. I collapsed onto my in-laws guest bed.

Was it easy? No, but it was worth it. Did it hurt? It depends on your pain threshold. I’d say not too badly, but there was a good deal of discomfort afterward, and there’s a psychological side to having your eyes sliced up that only my faith saw me through.

I’m grateful for my friends and family who prayed for me, for such kind and attentive in-laws, and for a God who created us with the ability to accomplish something so intricate on such a complicated and important part of the body.

If you have any other questions about LASIK surgery, feel free to email me. I’d be glad to answer as best I can.

Open my eyes, that I may see wondrous things from Your law. ~ Psalm 119:18

5 thoughts on “New Eyes

  1. Kerry, this was wonderful! Thanks for sharing your experience in such a powerfully poignant way.

    For anyone who has been through surgery understands, it can indeed be frightening. So thankful that God gave you reassurance and that you’ll soon be back to normal. 🙂

    Sending hugs!

  2. Wow, my eyes hurt now, lol! It’s amazing what the medical professionals can do nowadays. Glad to hear you are doing well and seeing perfect! You are definitely more brave than me:)
    God bless!

  3. Hi Kerry! Thanks for sharing your experience. I just wanted to mention that I absolutely loved the way you began your post. I know, I know… I’m veering from the focus of lasik eye surgery, but from one writer to another I couldn’t help but remark on how you have such a lovely way with words!

    “Tonight I took a walk under night’s gigantic inky cloak. The stars twinkled and the moon shone opal-bright from its crescent cleft in the darkness…”

    God bless, and enjoy your new vision. :o)

  4. You are a courageous young woman, Kerry. Reading the description made my eyes hurt and also made me thankful that while Lasik is available, I haven’t needed it…yet. But this was a helpful post to know basically what is involved. So happy for your quick healing response…modern medical technology is truly amazing. God bless your doctor and your sweet mother-in-law.

Leave a Reply

