Guest Post: Low Blood Sugar Christianity

By Bryan Ridenour

Over the last eleven months, we’ve learned much about medicinal side effects.  In fact, our son’s been a poster child for the common and the unusual responses to cancer treatment.  One of the chemo pills he ingests daily occasionally contributes to blood sugar issues in some patients.  Guess what?  Noah’s a part of the “Some.”  Low blood sugar does not strike him regularly, but when it happens, he feels extremely sluggish, nauseous, and he usually requests I lift him off of his top bunk and set his feet on the floor. 

A couple of mornings ago, he slowly lowered himself out of bed and informed my wife that he felt “low blood sugar” sick.  She checked and the digital reading confirmed his self-diagnosis.  So, now we add a late night sugar boosting food to his regimen about an hour after his last medications and after he’s drifted off to sleep for the night.  We wake him.  (No small task.)  He sleepily chews and drinks, his sugar then holding throughout the night.  That food sustains him.

“O taste and see that the Lord is good.”

Many believers battle “low blood sugar” spirituality.  They act listless and lifeless, going through the motions of Christianity, but seldom experiencing the joy of the Lord.  Quite possibly the problem hinges on an inadequate diet.  Psalm 34:8 says, “O taste and see that the Lord is good.”  Tasting requires action on our part.

When my wife or I hound Noah to a sitting position, we still count on him to chew up the food.  We cannot force him to chew; we can only make the snack available.

God gifted mankind with His Word.  However, we determine whether or not we plan to feast on the riches of His wisdom and truth.  If a layer of dust covers our Bibles, this undoubtedly points to a malnourished believer, and a spiritually stagnant life.  Others plod through Christendom expecting the pastor or a Bible study leader to spoon-feed them once a week, and then they return home tossing the Word of God on a shelf, unopened until the following Lord’s Day.

With my son battling low blood sugar, can you imagine the consequences of eating one meal per week? We’d see a gut wrenching, devastating outcome.  And yet, how many Christians treat their spiritual diets in the same careless manner?

I love my mom’s homemade banana pudding.  In fact, one helping seldom satisfies…well, unless the container rivals the size of a crystal punch bowl.  Why do I insist on seconds?  It tastes good.

“Low-blood sugar” Christians flounder in their sickly state because other interests and obligations take precedent over time spent in the Word of God.  When people carve out time to spend with God, meditating on the Scriptures, something supernatural happens.  The soul craves the spiritual food and shortly a ravenous hunger for God ensues.  People can’t help but go back for seconds, and thirds, and…Why?  Because they’ve tasted and seen that the Lord is good.

If you feel “blah” in your Christian walk, just get a taste of God.  You’ll go back for extra helpings.

Thanks so much for sharing this relevant post, Bryan! To read more of Bryan’s insightful posts, please visit his blog here, where he blogs 3 or 4 times per week about faith, family, and writing.

3 thoughts on “Guest Post: Low Blood Sugar Christianity

  1. It’s great to see Bryan on your blog, Kerry:) I decided to get up an hour or two before my kids do to read my Bible and have quiet time with the Lord. I can’t tell you how spiritually fed I feel each day now that I am making it a priority. It doesn’t have to be a legalistic thing. I want to spend time with God. And the days I don’t make it up early, I try to still read my Bible in between checking my kids schoolwork or while eating breakfast. We can always find time to spend with the Lord if we make it a priority. Once we realize we need God and His Word each day, we will want to make it a priority.
    Thanks for the wonderful message, Bryan!
    God bless you both:)

  2. I keep trying to get that message across to one of my sons. I cannot force him to chew or swallow – I can only offer it to him. You message hit my heart, encouraging me to continue offering! I will add your son to my prayer post-its on my mirror!

Leave a Reply

