Soul Music

The silence was deafening.

I sat up abruptly, awakened by the absence of sound and the nagging thought I had someplace to be and something to do. Soft familiar music began pushing away the silence, Amy Grant and her Father’s eyes. One glance at the alarm clock next to the bed and realization came crashing down.

8:07. 8:07?!

Two thoughts crossed my mind, shocking electrical currents of reality.

Time change. Sunday school!

It was Sunday, March 11th, the dreaded day we lose an hour in order to spring forward. I was teaching the 2nd and 3rd graders’ 9am class, and church is a good distance from our house. I needed at least 20 minutes to get there, so 8:25 is my ETD.

Grateful I’d taken a shower Saturday night, I erupted the rest of the way out of bed, nearly tripping over Jedi sprawled across our bedroom floor. There was a yip, a screech, and a hubby-sounding confused grunt from underneath a pillow.

Springing forward? More like falling down!

Confusion crossed my mind as I splashed water on my face, wondering how I missed my morning wake-up call when the alarm clock was obviously on.  As I shoveled down some strawberry yogurt and chugged a glass of water, it hit me that I just changed my alarm from a popular rock station to a local Christian station. I’m a notoriously heavy sleeper – my sister had to drag me out of bed on Christmas mornings – and blaring music is what it takes to get me up (getting dunked in a tank of cold water would probably work, too, but I don’t recommend that).  

For months – years, even – I’ve had my alarm clock tuned to a loud, caustic radio station that shocks me awake with jarring voices, unfamiliar songs, and loud commercials. I don’t like what I hear, so I quickly turn over and smack the alarm quiet. Usually the unpleasant cacophony of sound has done its job. I’m awake.

 “The hearing ear and the seeing eye, the Lord has made them both.” ~ Proverbs 20:12

A short time later, as my car cut through fog heading north on I-75, I realized I hadn’t woken up because the music flowing from my alarm clock was a familiar, beloved balm to my soul, soothing rather than shocking. After all, the music we listen to goes deep, deep inside, leaving an indelible mark. 

I love hearing music honoring God and praising Jesus, and the Bible reminds us to “rejoice always.” When we’re praising our Savior with music and song we’re honoring God’s word.

At work I hear songs about love, loss, bitterness, pain, breakups, anger, with lyrics that often question or mock God. And when I leave I’m eager to hear music and lyrics ringing with scripture, praise for our Creator, and encouragement for believers to hold fast to Jesus, no matter what.

As redeemed children of God, saved by grace through faith in Jesus Christ, we’re new creations in Christ. The Bible instructs us to “sing to the Lord and bless His name” because He is worthy of all our praise, and the music we fill our ears, mind, and soul with either draws us closer to God or shoves us deeper in the world.    

What do you listen to? Does the melody draw you to Jesus, or bring you in tune with world?

Oh, sing to the Lord a new song!

Sing to the Lord, all the earth.

Sing to the Lord, bless His name;

Proclaim the good news of His salvation from day to day.

Declare His glory among the nations,

His wonders among all peoples. ~ Psalm 96:1-3

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Soul Music

  1. Keli Gwyn April 15, 2012 at 1:12 am Reply

    While I’m not musically inclined, I love rockin’ out to the praise music during our Sunday services. I feel sorry for those directly behind me, because I do some serious swaying, hip slapping, and toe tapping. Some in our congregation have gone so far as to label my movements dancing, but they smile as they say it. I certainly feel like dancing as I worship and understand why King David did.

  2. alisa April 17, 2012 at 11:02 am Reply

    Music is very much a part of my life. I listen to Christian Rock/R&B/Rap/Pop while I work out. I find so many of God’s promises in the lyrics. I meditate on God and His glory and my resolve is strengthened. I feel like I can conquer anything–like I’m going to change the world for Christ! When I don’t get to work out and listen to my God music, I notice that my eternal energy is lacking.

    Thanks for this post! It has encouraged me!!!

  3. bluecottonmemory April 18, 2012 at 10:34 pm Reply

    What a wonderful way to wake up – to messages from God in sweet songs! I use my cell phone now – I kind of miss the music!

Leave a Reply

