October Baby ~ Movie Review: Tissues and Truth

“Open your mouth for the speechless, in the cause of all who are appointed to die.” ~ Proverbs 31:8 

One week ago I sat with a friend in a dark theater, napkins clutched in hand and emotions on high alert. We drove across Tampa to watch October Baby, a movie based on the true story of an abortion survivor and her search for identity, and we were eager to see if the movie lived up to the positive reviews.

In the quiet minutes before the movie started, my friend shared a heart burden she had about her child, a burden Trev and I dealt with, with one of our boys. Gratefully I shared of our experience and made a mental note to pray for their sweet family. As darkness descended and the speakers boomed out the film’s beginning, I was buoyed by the reminder that each of our children are “fearfully and wonderfully made” by our loving Creator – whether they’re ours by blood and birth or by love and adoption.

October Baby began, and I’m quite sure I’ll never be the same.

Words and thoughts about this movie overflow me, pouring down and spilling around my feet like Spring seeds, growing into beautiful blooms I’m trying to gather into a huge bunch I can share with others. 

The fragrance is overwhelming. 

October Baby swept me up and away, past what I expected to right where grace is. The film is judgement-free; there’s no finger-pointing or guilt trips the size of the Texas sky. There could have been. But I found no trace of subtle, moral-laden swipes at those who speak up for choice, for their bodies, for reproductive rights. The finger-pointing is solely at the act of abortion itself, with the movie clearly portraying how that act sends ripples to the furthest corners of society and into the deepest recesses of the heart.

It’s a story brightened and warmed under the golden sunrays of redemption and grace, where the conniving lie of quick fix is crushed under light and free dancing steps of forgiveness. October Baby rings with truth about the desperate woman choosing, about the fresh, steady heartbeat that’s stopped, and about the family and friends tied into the circle of agony and regret.

And love. So much love.

Because the movie parallels the book I’ve written – the story God placed on my heart four years ago – I was inspired to “open my mouth for the speechless.” Part of that is sharing how well-acted it is and how I laughed, sobbed, smiled, shook my head, giggled, and stared at the screen in shock. Sharing how I ran out of napkins and slobbered all over my shirt as the credits rolled.

I urge you to see October Baby, to experience raw forgiveness found in a simple note, to watch how the painful depths of surprised hurt can reshape who we are into who we’re meant to be, and to feel the beautiful brokenness of new life and old love rediscovered.

Yes, Lord, every person You create is beautiful. Each and every one.

Go see October Baby, and don’t forget the tissues like I did. I’ll buy you chocolate if you don’t need them. (And make sure you stay for the closing credits.)

“So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.” ~ Genesis 1:27

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “October Baby ~ Movie Review: Tissues and Truth

  1. brvan71 April 19, 2012 at 2:11 pm Reply

    I’ve been wanting to go see this movie. Do you think it’s suitable for a church youth group outing? Thanks for sharing your review. (I didn’t know you wrote a book….”

    • candidkerry April 19, 2012 at 9:08 pm Reply

      Hi Bryan,
      Thanks for stopping by! Did you get my email? I hope you guys have a wonderful trip down to my neck of the woods. 🙂
      God Bless

  2. Amanda Beth April 19, 2012 at 3:00 pm Reply

    Wow, I will have to see that movie, even though I’ll probably cry through the whole thing:). It’s great to see that type of movie out to support the precious gift of life. Thanks for sharing it. Still praying for your book! Can’t wait to see it published:)

    • candidkerry April 19, 2012 at 9:10 pm Reply

      Hi Amanda,
      Thanks so much for your prayers. And you should definitely either go to the theater or buy October Baby when it’s on DVD. It’s really, really good and well worth it. I knew I’d cry so I planned to bring tissues, but left them in my car and drove Trev’s car to the theater! Ahh! 😉
      God Bless,
      Kerry

Leave a Reply

