Book Review and Giveaway ~ Short-Straw Bride, by Karen Witemeyer

In June of 2011, I closed Karen Witemeyer’s To Win Her Heart and let out a loud, dramatic sigh, wondering how I’d wait 11 ½ months for her next book. Thankfully the weeks and months passed quickly, and this month I excitedly opened a box from Bethany House/Baker Publishing with an ARC (Advanced Reader Copy)* of Short-Straw Bride.

An ear-to-ear grin split my face as I gazed at the beautiful cover.  For a book and chocolate lover (and romantic sap) like myself, it was like opening a huge Hershey bar.

Three days later, I opened an Amazon box containing my pre-ordered copy of Short-Straw Bride. My husband glanced at my ARC copy and gave me a quizzical look.

“Ooops, I forgot,” I shrugged sheepishly.

A couple of days later, another Amazon box arrived, and this time I stared quizzically at the box and its contents. A third copy? I giggled at my exuberant excitement about ordering Short-Straw Bride as visions of blog book giveaways danced through my head.

Short-Straw Bride is Karen’s fourth book and another wonderful read. As the above true story illustrates, I’m a huge fan of Karen and her books. When I picked up Head in the Clouds a couple years ago, I was swayed by the beautiful cover (yup, I judged it), but once I started reading I couldn’t put it down. A Tailor-Made Bride, Head in the Clouds, To Win Her Heart, and Short-Straw Bride top my personal list of all-time favorite romances.

Short-Straw Bride’s Travis and Meredith are yet another pair of main characters, created by Karen, who I’m still thinking about – and missing – days after finishing their story. Karen’s writing is smooth and welcoming in a warm, engaging way. She keeps readers close and creates memorable characters that pop off the page and plots that canter along like Ginger, Meredith’s horse.

I also appreciate the solid spiritual elements she includes in each book, intertwining the characters’ imperfections and real-life situations with their faith in God. (And I’m pretty sure Karen used to be a Chemistry teacher because she’s so good at writing about it.)

Short-Straw Bride is about the Archer brothers – four young men who staunchly guard their land – and a determined young woman with a debt to repay. Add in a childhood crush, a villain set on gaining the Archer land at any cost, crackling chemistry between Travis and Meredith, and four life-changing straws, and you get another winner by Karen Witemeyer.

Do I really have to wait another year for Crockett’s story? Sigh.

*I received this book free from Baker Publishing in exchange for my honest opinion.

Due to my exuberant excitement about Karen’s books, I now have three beautiful copies of Short-Straw Bride. I really love to share good books, so I’m having my first blog book drawing!

I’d love to know…which author do you buy without having to read the back cover or know what the book is about? Have you ever bought multiple copies of a book to share with others?

But first…

In accordance with the FTC guidelines, here are some RULES for this giveaway:

  • To win, you must be age 21 or over.
  • Due to mailing restrictions, blog drawings/giveaways are limited to U.S. residents only.
  • This drawing is void where prohibited.

To enter the drawing, leave a comment on my blog or on my Facebook post by June 17. (Be sure to provide your email address so I can contact you if you win.)

I’ll select the winner June 17 and post the name here and in a comment.

4 thoughts on “Book Review and Giveaway ~ Short-Straw Bride, by Karen Witemeyer

  1. Kristen Heitzmann, MaryLu Tyndall. I have never bought more than one copy of the same book. I have loaned my books to other people, though.

    My email is katelynmwhitley (at) yahoo (dot) com.

    Thanks for the chance!

    • I really enjoy Frank Peretti, too. This Present Darkness is one of my all-time favorite books! Thanks for stopping by, Bryan, and for your brave and Word-filled posts on your blog.

Leave a Reply

