The Privilege of Prayer

We need to pray.

“Boys, will you pray with me?” I looked from one pair of guileless blue eyes to the other.

Chase blinked up at me, nodding solemnly. Common-sense Cole quietly asked the question that was on all our minds and hearts that evening.

“Is she going to die?”

“I don’t know, honey, but God does. He has the situation in His hand.” I answered honestly.

We were visiting my hubby’s parents in Sarasota when my father-in-law got the call from his brother in Pennsylvania. They had just taken Grandma Johnson to the hospital and things weren’t looking good.

From 1200 miles away, emotions run high and silence and lack of answers wreaks havoc on the imagination. Seeing my father-in-law’s crumpled face as he listened to his brother’s difficult words made my heart constrict with a painful mix of sadness, hope, and uncertainty.

I had called the boys out of the pool and herded them into the pool bathroom to take a quick shower and change into their pajamas.  Twilight was falling quickly, bringing with it the heaviness of the situation. On the puddle-dotted bathroom floor, I squatted eye-to-eye with our boys to explain what was going on.

Chase was still wrapped in a towel, face flushed and hair glistening from two hours of cavorting in my in-laws’ pool. We huddled together, and my heart swelled painfully when Cole put his hand on my shoulder as I began to pray.

What a privilege to pray with them for their great-grandma.

“Lord, please watch over Great-Grandma Jeanne tonight. Please heal her heart or take her home quickly if it’s her time to see Jesus. Thank You that she knows Jesus as her Savior and that she’s lived a good long life. Please give Grandpa Ken peace and strength…”

After I finished, I gave them twin kisses on their foreheads. Shuffling them into the shower, I felt hope spill through my veins like the water washing over the boys. It crossed my mind again what an awesome privilege it is to pray to the Father because of the Son. And when we don’t know what to pray for, God uses the Holy Spirit to direct our hearts and words.

“Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.” ~ Romans 8:26

We were grateful to find out the next day that Trev’s grandma made it through the night and was doing well after heart surgery. What a praise, and an important reminder that God’s call on our lives is simple but powerful – Pray. Pray. Pray. Without ceasing and with faith in His ways, His timing, and His answers.

Recently, a sweet friend posted a favorite hymn, one I remember softly singing in my childhood church in Connecticut. Reading the words to Joseph M. Scriven’s hymn was a timely and encouraging reminder to bring everything to Him who gave everything for us.

What a friend we have in Jesus,
All our sins and griefs to bear!
What a privilege to carry
Everything to God in prayer!
Oh, what peace we often forfeit,
Oh, what needless pain we bear,
All because we do not carry
Everything to God in prayer!

Thank You Lord for the privilege of bringing all our cares and worries to You in prayer. Help us to be prayer warriors for each other, and help us rest in You and not in whimsical emotions.

“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” ~ Philippians 4:6 & 7

4 thoughts on “The Privilege of Prayer

  1. Praying for your Grandma, Kerry! It’s wonderful you are teaching your kids to rely on God. We had two family members in the hospital over the weekend. My kids and I prayed and they are both doing better. It’s great for them to see God hears their prayers. When my daughter was young she was our little prayer warrior. Anytime anyone was sick we would have her pray and we saw amazing miracles happen. It was a wonderful testimony to have childlike faith as she had. Thanks for sharing and reminding us to pray and rely on God. Prayers and blessings to your family.:)

    • Thanks for your prayers! His grandma is doing really well now.

      That’s so cute about your daughter being a prayer warrior. I love it!

      Thank you for your prayers and encouragement.

      Hugs~ Kerry

Leave a Reply

