Hold On

I was sweeping and watering plants on the back lanai one sunny fall afternoon when I saw the little moth. The boys were busy waging war in the backyard with foam swords, their giggling cries swerving and sweeping much like the small winged creature that caught my eye.  The light tan coloring on the moth’s body and the delicate patterns on its half-inch wings stood out against the grey screen.

As I watered thirsty plants, the butter cream colored moth flew in haphazard circles, then dropped a few inches to rest on the metal railing holding the screen securely in place. The tiny creature nestled into the corner railing, its petite wings still, defeated.

A few moments later it began again, beating uselessly against unyielding screen with freedom dancing on the sunlight just outside its reach.

Putting down the watering can, I reached my pointer finger forward toward the desperate moth. I was determined to carry it to freedom outside the lanai door. Surprisingly, it didn’t move away from my insistent finger but instead sat comfortably onboard the human vessel offered it.

A victorious smile creased my face as I turned toward the door, but after two footsteps a gentle current of wind from my movement caught the small moth, causing it to fly off my finger and back on the lanai screen where it had been.

I tried again, my finger crooked out like a bird perch, determined to bring the little moth to freedom. The second attempt went much as the first, and the third like a perfect dress rehearsal of failure.

“Hold on.”

But once the wind reached my hand and the moth, it panicked and let go, returning to the small corner where lanai screen and metal pole met and freedom’s hope disappeared.

Finally, I tried walking backward toward the door with my pointer finger drawn close to my body, hoping to shield the moth from the breeze. A loud sigh escaped my lips as it again plunged from my saving finger back to the screen stronghold.

I shook my head at the hopeless creature and picked up the watering can. But I wondered…is that me, Lord? Do we do that just as You’re carrying us to safety and away from a difficult trial? Do I continue clinging to a false fortress when Your saving strength can take me directly through the swirling wind to safety?

Do I hold on to You?

“I cried out to God with my voice – to God with my voice; And He gave ear to me. In the day of my trouble I sought the Lord; My hand was stretched out in the night without ceasing; My soul refused to be comforted…And I said, ‘This is my anguish; But I will remember the years of the right hand of the Most High.’ I will remember the works of the Lord; Surely I will remember Your wonders of old. I will also meditate on all Your work, and talk of Your deeds. Your way, O God, is in the sanctuary; Who is so great a God as our God?” ~ Psalm 77: 1 &2, 10-13

Thank You Lord that You always provide sanctuary for us in our trials. Thank You that You offer us Your righteous right hand, to uphold us and carry us through. Remind us to hold on to You no matter how strong the winds blow. Thank You for giving us Jesus, who is our strong refuge, our Rock and Redeemer and a fortress for the weak.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Hold On

  1. zandaltwist November 12, 2012 at 5:44 pm Reply

    A perfect allegory. A perfect allusion. Well written. It speaks to me too.

Leave a Reply

