Faithful

faithful[1]

Do you have a word you want others to use to describe you? An adjective describing the essence of who you are?

When I was an emotion-tossed teen, I would’ve considered ‘intelligent’, ‘friendly’, ‘talented’, ‘witty’, or even ‘strong-willed’ to be acceptable descriptors of who I was.

But as I’ve gotten older and walked the bumpy, beautiful covenant of marriage, as well as skipped through the fun, twisting halls of life-long friendship, I’ve realized being talented, friendly, and intelligent are not really who I want to be.

Because Who I belong to sets the course for my life.

I’m a saved and sanctified child of God (I hope you are, too!), and my heart longs for God to find me faithful above all else.

Faithful?  I don’t mean the spray-shooting geyser found in Yellowstone National Park.

I meanfull of faith; steadfast in affection or allegiance; constant, devoted, steady, and true.”

Christ-followers serve a faithful God, and I’m blessed to see swipes of bright, faith-filled color across the landscape of this earthly life, reminding me to look up instead of inward for who (Whose) I am.

“Your mercy, O Lord, is in the heavens; Your faithfulness reaches to the clouds.” (Ps. 36:5)

Every Saturday a faithful sister in Christ can be found at a busy intersection in my city. She parks her car nearby and sets out a chair in which she sits, holding up a simple sign. “Jesus Cares,” it promises in large, plain black print. Her warm smile and friendly wave elicit a cacophony of hello honks from passing cars.

Every. Single. Saturday. A few times people have stopped to talk with her or pray with her. I always honk and wave, grateful for her quiet faithfulness to share Christ’s love.

keep-calm-god-is-faithful[1]

One of the qualities that attracted me to my husband was his faithfulness. He’s not perfect, but his steady, faithful nature roots our family deep and shows God’s faithfulness to our boys.

Last week my hubby lived out his faithfulness by driving an hour and 45 minutes at night to pick up our very sick 8-year old. My two boys and I were going on a big school field trip Friday, so Thursday night I was staying at a dear friend’s house in order to be closer to the field trip destination (Kennedy Space Center).

My younger son had been feeling well enough during the day, but that night about 9pm his coughing took a turn for the worse, until it sounded and seemed like Chase couldn’t breathe. Croup was taking his breath and stealing my peace. How could I attend the field trip with Cole when Chase was so sick?

Experiencing this frightening, rare croup episode away from home magnified the situation even more.

My concerned hubby offered to drive across the state of Florida to pick him up.

On I-4, through Orlando and Disney territory, in the dead of night. No complaining, no griping, just steadfast action that alleviated a difficult situation (I didn’t want Cole to have to miss his field trip).

I rushed Chase to a local urgent care clinic, where he was given a dose of steroids to help him breathe. Trevor arrived as we were checking out. Fifteen minutes from midnight, after playing racquetball for an hour and a half after work and working out, he was still sticky with sweat, dressed in workout clothes.

Faithful.

I was beyond grateful for my hubby’s faithfulness to come so far to get Chase and bring him back to the comfort of our house to rest, allowing Cole and I to enjoy the field trip the next day.

Do you have faithful friends, family members, or co-workers?

In a world tossed by the waves of pleasing others, popularity, majority rule, and do-what-feels-best, steady faithfulness is a trait – a heavenly characteristic – that I pray believers long for.

“God is faithful, by whom you were called into the fellowship of His Son, Jesus Christ, our Lord.” (1 Cor. 1:9)  

Tagged: , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Faithful

  1. johnmarkmiller March 11, 2015 at 1:19 pm Reply

    What a great describing word… may we all be found faithful!

  2. Jennifer Deg March 16, 2015 at 1:49 pm Reply

    This is great. My hubby sounds a lot like your hubby. He hardly EVER complains, and simply serves selflessly. He has been such a blessing to me, especially during this recovery. Thanks for sharing your heart. 💞

Leave a Reply

