Pre-Conference Mix & Mingle ~ Kerry Johnson

11960049_731884017774_8185086164816970502_n[1]

We’re days away from ACFW’s (American Christian Fiction Writers) annual Conference, this year held in Dallas, TX. I’m excited (and nervous) to join hundreds (thousands!?) of writers who love God, stories, and learning more about the craft of writing. Oh, and plenty of agents and editors, too.

It’s been so fun getting to know other authors through the pre-conference mix and mingle. A great reminder they’re just normal people too, a little scared and a lot excited to see what God has in store for our stories and lives through the words He’s given us.

A big thank you to Laurie Tomlinson for graciously putting this together!

Here’s My Scoop (Mint chocolate chip, please):

Name: Kerry Johnson

Location: Tampa, FL

What you write/tagline/trademark: Young Adult/middle grades “Adventures in Faith,” and Contemporary Women’s Fiction “Stories of Real Redemption.”

Place in the book world: Pre-published, seeking representation. The first book in my middle grades speculative fiction trilogy is complete and I’m outlining the second. My contemporary women’s fiction story is complete with a second book in the works. (I also self-published a devotional, Grace for the Gaps: Rejoicing in Jesus on Life’s Journey.)

On a scale of hugger to 10-foot-pole, please rate your personal space: Mid-level Hugger: 6 You want a hug? I give hugs. You don’t want a hug? We just chat until we’re ready to hug. 🙂

The unique talking point that will get you going for hours: My hubby & two boys, books, books, and more books (sigh…love romance and middle grades adventure, read voraciously), the strange creatures in our house (our pets, not our kids), Jesus and amazing grace.

Loved ones at home you’ll be missing: My hubby, two boys, and our drooling, squirrel-obsessed dog, Jedi. I’m thankful my mom and sister are joining me for a sort-of ‘girls weekend away’ celebrating my Genesis final. 🙂

Conference goals we can pray for? Connecting with other writers, especially of the same genre; peace about pitching to agents and editors; finding the agent God has for me.

Anything we can celebrate with you? A final in the Genesis (YA category) and finally sending out my first query. Squeeeeeee 🙂 God is good!

One or two ways we can help you build your platform? You can like my author page on Facebook and follow me on Twitter. My author website is mostly done, but not quite ready for subscribers.

Thank you, Laurie, for hosting this. I’m looking forward to reading everyone’s answers and meeting you all at conference. Hugs & God Bless!

Headshot

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Pre-Conference Mix & Mingle ~ Kerry Johnson

  1. […] Pre-Conference Mix & Mingle ~ Kerry Johnson […]

  2. Belinda Kramer September 13, 2015 at 8:41 am Reply

    So excited for you Kerry! Enjoy the conference. I can hardly wait to hear about all the connections you’re going to make and the publisher you are going to connect with very soon.😊 Keep us posted.

  3. Heidi Blankenship September 13, 2015 at 4:48 pm Reply

    Hi Kerry, Thanks for visiting my blog post and congratulations on your Genesis final. That’s amazing! I’m excited to meet you as it appears we have much in common.

    • candidkerry September 13, 2015 at 5:42 pm Reply

      Thank you, Heidi! Looking forward to meeting you too. Very soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

