Jesus Wept

C5540_cutout_Rotate[1]

The baby Jesus lay on the ground, cold plastic drenched in rainwater tears.

My flip flop caught the sidewalk edge, and I flew forward. I righted myself but couldn’t take my eyes off the little nativity scene bleached by Florida sun and worn by years in my neighbor’s yard.

It was timely.

I hope you and yours had a peaceful, family-filled Christmas break. Ours was nice, though I had a good cry over the break; nothing terrible happened, more a combination of random end-of-the-year factors:

  • I threw out my lower back doing who-knows-what, and hobbled around the house like Yoda for three days (speaking of, our family saw The Force Awakens and LOVED it–have you seen it?).

10009848_10208383368521176_1546910090233162787_n[1]

  • We brought home a (vocal) new family member/Christmas present (a juvenile Sun Conure), and though we love Mango, it’s been an adjustment.

1975235_10208400098419413_4994600761139743855_n[1]

  • Ill-timed hormones (sorry, men reading this).
  • Little time to write, which tends to bring out my grumpies.

20130417-125722[1]

  • The stress of having people over and keeping the house spic and span throughout the break (I’m unfortunately one of those who struggles with needing a perfectly picked-up house for company).

Messy-House[1]

(Please note this is NOT my house.)

  • A heart-cracking realization that our boys are 95% past picture books. Our Christmas picture books–a staple each Christmas season, stories I’ve read to the boys over and over since they toddled about in diapers–were left mostly untouched this year. This literary milestone is a shot in the heart for me. *sniff sniff*

kidsbooks

  • More hormones (thank you, patient hubby and extra sleep).
  • Some big decisions and prayers about my writing that have not yet been answered, or I have to make soon. God is good and I trust His plan completely, but my human impatience takes over.

The day I broke down and let the tears flow, I called my mom. She reminded me it’s okay.

It’s okay to cry when life overwhelms.

Just don’t forget that God sees and understands each tear.

Jesus isn’t a faded plastic figurine. He walked the earth, lived a life fraught with emotional, stressful situations (certainly more than most of us), and He wept. Jesus cried, too.

And now? Now He intercedes for us at the right hand of the Father. He sees, and cares. He cares.

John 11:35 is the shortest verse in the Bible. “Jesus wept.” It’s a petite sentence describing a perfect Savior.

The Son of God cried tears of sympathy and pain. He knew what was to come, but still He hurt for His friends and knew the pain of death this side of the Cross.

Jesus wept.

Matthew Henry notes that, “Christ’s tender sympathy with these afflicted friends, appeared by the troubles of his spirit. In all the afflictions of believers he is afflicted. His concern for them was shown by his kind inquiry after the remains of his deceased friend. Being found in fashion as a man, he acts in the way and manner of the sons of men. It was shown by his tears. He was a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief. We have not a High Priest who cannot be touched with a feeling of our infirmities.”

While I hope and pray that this long stretch of grace ahead–a fresh New Year–doesn’t bring you bouts of tears, don’t feel alone if you do cry. Jesus wept, too. And He will never leave you or forsake you.

Keep your eyes on Him in 2016, friends.

Bible-Verses-Psalm-136-1-GODs-Love-Endures-Forever-Picture[1]

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Jesus Wept

  1. WordsasWorship January 6, 2016 at 12:38 am Reply

    Kerry, I love your blogposts! Keep sharing, please.

    • candidkerry January 6, 2016 at 9:13 am Reply

      Thank you, Cheryl. I appreciate you & BCW so much!

  2. deboracoty January 6, 2016 at 3:19 pm Reply

    When did you take a picture of my living room?

    • candidkerry January 6, 2016 at 4:12 pm Reply

      LOL Deb! I snuck in the day after Christmas. 😉

  3. BelindaKramer January 12, 2016 at 6:00 pm Reply

    Loved the post. You reminded us of the beauty of that short verse that is so powerful.

    • candidkerry January 12, 2016 at 7:29 pm Reply

      Thanks, Belinda. It really is such a telling verse about Jesus and His ministry on earth. *Hugs*

  4. Rick Christensen January 13, 2016 at 6:22 am Reply

    Hey, how did you get in my office for that pic? Great post! Look forward to your writing and inspiration this year!

    • candidkerry January 13, 2016 at 6:57 pm Reply

      LOL, Rick. I really can’t imagine. I couldn’t think straight. I hope you’re doing well. Miss seeing you, and hope to see you at January’s meeting? *hugs*

Leave a Reply

