Wonderful Writerly News

 

keep-calm-exciting-news-ahead[1]

“You’re not allowed to cry, mom!” Chase stares at my face intently as I listen to the phone message that arrived while we were out that evening.

(He doesn’t like when I cry, even if it’s a happy cry.)

A sweet voice drifts over my dining room table, words this writer yearned to hear …”I’m calling because you’re a finalist in the Genesis Contest! I wish I could hear you screaming…”

She was so right. I was screaming. Scream-cry-smiling, Scrimling, something like that. Add a side of jumping up and down.

However weird that must’ve looked and sounded, I was so thrilled to get this encouraging news.

I can’t share the title, but it’s a cute story that came to me randomly the end of last year–a ‘what if?’ scenario that turned into two characters inhabiting my imagination, urging their story to be told.

While I have a huge soft spot for my middle grade characters and story, I had so much fun writing a romance that (one day, Lord willing) makes readers smile and sigh, too. And I’m so thankful to my two critique partners, who helped shape the story from its messy beginnings.

Along this slow and often frustrating path to publication, each step up is a step forward. And while a contest semi-final or final is not a guarantee of publication, it is a huge encouragement for moving in the write right direction.

chalkboard_quotes_twain[1]

Winners are announced at the American Christian Fiction Writers conference in Nashville in August. I’ll be sure to post pictures and news after the conference! 🙂


Recently I read 2 Chronicles 31, and two verses grabbed my attention. Chapter thirty-one details portions of the reign of King Hezekiah of Judah, how Hezekiah destroyed the idolatry prevalent in the land. He determined to make it right between his nation and his God.

Thus Hezekiah did throughout all Judah, and he did what was good and right and true before the Lord his God. And in every work that he began in the service of the house God, in the law and in the commandment, to seek his God, he did it with all his heart. So he prospered. (verse 20 & 21, bolding emphasis mine)

Everything Hezekiah attempted to do, he was successful in accomplishing. Not because of his own power and wisdom, but because he sought the Lord in all he did, he did what was good and right in the eyes of the Lord, and he worked with all his heart.

Matthew Henry notes: “In all that Hezekiah attempted in God’s service, he was earnest and single in his aim and dependence, and was prospered accordingly. Whether we have few or many talents intrusted to us, may we thus seek to improve them, and encourage others to do the same. What is undertaken with a sincere regard to the glory of God, will succeed to our own honour and comfort at last.”

maxresdefault[1]

In chapter thirty-two, Hezekiah’s encouraging words to his military men before a big battle also encouraged me.

I pray they encourage you, too.

“Be strong and courageous; do not be afraid nor dismayed before the king of Assyria, nor before all the multitude that is with him; for there are more with us than with him. With him is an arm of flesh; but with us is the Lord our God, to help us and to fight our battles” (32:7 & 8).

Whatever you’re facing this week, this summer, this year, know that the Lord your God is with you, to help and to fight your battles.

God Bless You!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Wonderful Writerly News

  1. joannebischof June 22, 2016 at 12:08 am Reply

    AWWWW! This is so worth “scrimling” over!! SO happy for you!

    • candidkerry June 22, 2016 at 12:46 am Reply

      Thank you, Joanne. ❤ Means so much coming from you! Are you attending Nashville? Hope to meet you if so! Can't wait to get my paperback copy of The Lady and the Lionheart. ❤

  2. Maranatha Parke June 22, 2016 at 12:58 am Reply

    Congratulations! I happened to be at church on a rare Wednesday night and Pastor Mark shared on these verses and it was a great reminder and encouragement to me. So happy for you!

    • candidkerry June 22, 2016 at 1:00 am Reply

      Thanks, M! I just read them, for the first time I believe. So encouraging. Hope you’re having a good summer. Looking forward to hanging out VBS week. 🙂 ❤

  3. Jebraun Clifford June 22, 2016 at 4:06 am Reply

    Congratulations! Such exciting news. I didn’t get a phone call, only an email. But I did run through the house jumping up and down 😊 And I love the idea of prospering because we’re seeking the Lord in everything we do. Like Colossians 3:23 that says, ‘whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord.’ Knowing that what we do brings glory to Him is a great thing.

    • candidkerry June 22, 2016 at 9:30 am Reply

      What just made me laugh was that I had to run out for maybe 15 minutes that night. Or we got our new fridge, something like that. I don’t even remember now! But when we returned…there was a message. THE message. 🙂 ❤ Col. 3:23 is such a great verse & reminder.

      I look forward to meeting you in Nashville! 🙂

      • Jebraun Clifford June 25, 2016 at 5:34 am

        So many friends to meet for realsies. FB is fun, but there’s nothing like making someone’s acquaintance in the flesh 😊

  4. deboracoty June 22, 2016 at 7:22 am Reply

    THRILLED for you, sweet writer buddy! I’ll be rooting for you to win!

  5. Emily Conrad June 22, 2016 at 9:47 am Reply

    Congrats, Kerry! It’s a really cute story, and I’m so happy you got this encouragement!

    • candidkerry June 23, 2016 at 9:51 pm Reply

      Thank you, friend. ❤ Your help, advice, and expertise is so appreciated. Praying for your stories to get into readers' hands soon! ❤

  6. Rick Christensen June 22, 2016 at 1:06 pm Reply

    You are awemazing! So proud of you!!!!!!!!

    • candidkerry June 23, 2016 at 9:50 pm Reply

      Thanks Rick! ❤ So thankful for God's faithfulness to bring me (and my stories) this far! ❤ Appreciate you and BCW so much. ❤

  7. WordsasWorship June 22, 2016 at 4:03 pm Reply

    So happy for this great news, Kerry. Again, we’ll be praying for a win at conference. The Scripture and Hezekiah encouragement makes this post even better. Thanks for writing!!

    • candidkerry June 23, 2016 at 9:48 pm Reply

      Thanks so much Cheryl, for all your love and encouragement! ❤

Leave a Reply

