Something That’s Better

FullSizeRender2

“You are a beggar.” I tisked and shook my head at our nosey Sun Conure, Mango.

Leaning against the kitchen counter, I ran an avocado under the faucet then dried it with paper towel. Avocados are one of my favorite healthy additions to salad, and I try to eat at least one a week. I ignored the needy bird, slicing the fruit in half and twisting it open.

From his perch across the high bar separating our kitchen from the dining room area, Mango jiggled in a beggar bird dance and fluttered his wings in case I’d forgotten he was there.

“Nope. Can’t have this.”

Mango enjoys fruits and a few veggies: apple, blueberry, banana, raisins & grapes, strawberries, mango, broccoli, carrots, and corn. His store-bought bird food contains some of these items as well as all sorts of nuts and seeds and dried fruit.

We give him two or three food treats a day. But he is absolutely not allowed to eat avocados. (Or chocolate.)

Mango and one of his favorite treats–a blueberry.

FullSizeRender1

I’m not sure why he can’t have avocado, but it’s definitely a no-go.

As I finished scooping out the firm, greenish-yellow avocado halves, my mind wandered familiar paths…school starting for our boys, unsettling issues I’ve been having with my asthma, home remodeling projects undone, the book I’m trying to finish editing before a big writing conference, the writing conference itself…

As they often do, my worn worries turned to whiny prayers. “Lord, why can’t…”

“Help me let this go and trust You…”

“Keep them safe while…”

“Please make it that….”

One particular writing concern, something I’ve been praying specifically about for two years–something that almost worked out recently but ultimately didn’t–weighed so heavily I blinked away frustration tears.

Another prayer trickled from my lips. “Why couldn’t that have…”

Mango eyed the chunks of avocado and dance-strutted across the thick perch over his cage.

I glanced up, shaking my head at the bobbing bird . “You can’t have this. It. Is. Not. Good. For. You. I’ll give you something else that’s better.”

I handed him a sliced almond, and he eagerly grabbed it with his black beak and dug in. (Eating only 5% of it, as birds do.)

And the still small voice, the one God’s given us to guide and direct, nudged and kneaded my heart, still tender about the dream.

“I’ll give you something else that’s better.”

For I know the plans I have for you…

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.

For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.

Giving that tender dream back to God…I needed to do it. To be reminded that He’ll give me something that’s better.

If you’re in a similar place…praying, hoping, praying, trying to trust. Maybe downtrodden and discouraged about a closed door, too. Or even confused about something you thought God had planned for you.*

Hold fast to the Hope you have, and trust God’s higher ways. He loves us–He made us–so He knows what’s best for us.

I would have lost heart, unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait on the Lord; Be of good courage, and He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the Lord! (Ps.27: 13 & 14)

 

*Praying for you, friend.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Something That’s Better

  1. *Blinks away tears* Thank you so much for this Kerry. It was just what I needed to hear this morning, as I have been overwhelmed with a decision that needs to be made, a door that I feel God is closing, and it’s been causing discomfort to say the least. But oh how I believe He has so much more in store for me, as last Sunday while singing on the worship team I knew that I was smack dab in the middle of God’s will for my life. I’m learning that I need to cut down my commitments and save my energy (and ankle) for that which I feel He has planned for me. Thanks again. He is faithful. 💞

Leave a Reply

