Most Memorable Reads of 2016

books-quotes-351

As we close down another year, I love looking back on the fabulous books I’ve read over the past 365 days. Each January on Goodreads I set up my goal of 52 books, and do my best to meet the goal (while squeezing in as much writing and real life as possible).

Choosing my top five or ten favorite books feels too much like choosing a favorite child or favorite chocolate. I can’t! Each story I read leaves a mark on me in its own way, through the gift of story.

So I decided to list my most memorable reads of 2016–the stories that lingered with me, tugged my heartstrings, gripped my emotions, made me laugh (or cry), and inspired my own writing the most.

(These are in no particular order.)

 

285163391

Shadow of the Storm is book #2 in the Out of Egypt trilogy (book three releases in May), and I loved this and Counted with the Stars equally. Beautiful writing, tender romance, and life-like characters struggling to trust God and survive amidst the turmoil of the Exodus–what’s not to love? A winner for fans of historical and biblical romance.

***

293888532

I read The Girl from the Train last year and was quite moved by Irma Joubert’s (American) debut, so I quickly picked up Child of the River when it released. I finished the story a few weeks ago and still think of the characters. Her writing is somehow both simple and powerful, the images startling. Many scenes I reread just to soak the words in. This author has a gentle, probing hand with human emotion and a vast understanding of South Africa’s (WWII-era) history, giving readers unique stories that long stay with you.

***

238459701

Because I’m also writing a middle grade/YA trilogy, I read this genre once or twice a month. Last in a Long Line of Rebels was humorous and touching for kids and adults alike. Strong-willed protagonist, Lou, and her best friends are determined to solve a centuries-old mystery that threatens her family. Though my boys are getting pickier about “girl stories,” they eagerly snuggled into bed at night so I could read another chapter of this southern story chock full of mystery and family drama–and laughs.

***

298838711

Author Brandy Vallance’s sophomore novel is just as delicious and lovely as its cover. Though quite different than her dazzling debut, The Covered Deep, Within the Veil spills over with beautiful prose and riveting emotion, never giving the reader a chance to pause and catch their breath (which is of course, a good thing.) The romance is both fiery and tender (but remains appropriate), and the fascinating Scottish history fills the pages to the brim. Even better? The sweet salvation message threaded throughout.

***

272093121

If I were to choose a book that racked up the most tears per page, this one wins the blue ribbon. Not that I cried a lot, just one good, solid time. Oh…the end. That scene. A Flight of Arrows is Lori’s second book in The Pathfingers series, and I recommend reading The Wood’s Edge first to better understand this stunning story. Lori’s breathtaking prose and meticulous research frame a story so spiritually moving that I used at least three tissues. While I loved all of her books so far, this one. Just. Moved. Me. So. Much.

***

259138671

Such a fun and heartwarming story! I read Rachel McMillan’s debut in one wonderful day, reclining in my comfy reading chair, and I loved every moment of it. Part mystery, part historical, and threaded with sweet romance, The Bachelor Girl’s Guide to Murder delivers lovely prose, witty footnotes, and lively dialogue that captivates readers. It’s just a unique story, and I still gaze fondly at this adorable green book gem, set on my ‘favorites’ bookshelf.

***

272613451

This book still makes me sigh. Author Joanne Bischof is so gifted at creating beautiful scenes and a tender romance. Oh, that Charlie! I dare you to read this and not fall a little bit in fictional love. But The Lady and the Lionheart is much more than a romance–it’s a redemption story with abiding themes of forgiveness and grace. SO beautiful. (Sigh. See?) For fans of inspirational historical romance, The Lady and the Lionheart is a Must-read.

***

160995951

I’m always on the lookout for appropriate, exciting books for my voracious 12-year old bookworm, and Jill Williamson’s books are just about perfect. Replication is Young Adult,  clean and exciting for ages 12-17, boy or girl. I enjoyed this action-packed story of clone Jason 3.3 (Martyr) and his journey to find out whether his life counts. Humorous and poignant dialogue with new friend Abby mixed with a little bit of romance and lots of action make for a fantastic read for teens.

***

293583881

It was difficult to choose between author Jody Hedlund’s two phenomenal historicals this year–Luther and Katharina (about Martin Luther and his wife Katharina Von Bora), and Newton and Polly (about Amazing Grace composer John Newton and his wife Polly Catlett.) Both stories are touching tributes to the faith and resilience these four historical figures lived. Polly and Newton’s story in particular grabbed me, the stark but grace-filled portrayal of a likeable, proud young man running from God. Redemption abounds, of course. Hedlund’s meticulous research, vivid characters, and lyrical prose are a well-loved gift to her readers.

***

These book beauties are my Most Memorable Reads of 2016. I’d love to know what your most memorable read(s) are from 2016.

I wish you and yours a safe New Year’s and a blessed and healthy 2017! Happy Reading, friends! ❤ 🙂

“I thank my God upon every remembrance of you.” Phil. 1:3

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Most Memorable Reads of 2016

  1. Rick Christensen December 31, 2016 at 7:45 pm Reply

    Happy new year to you and your family with prayers for blessings in the new year. My favorite author and poet of this year is Ron Rash. Professor from NC. And you of course!

    • candidkerry December 31, 2016 at 7:53 pm Reply

      Hi Rick! Miss you! Hope your Christmas and New Year’s is blessed, and hope to see you in 2017! ❤

Leave a Reply

